Domestic Assault Defense Law Firm

Lawyers & Attorneys Serving Arapahoe, Douglas, Denver, & Adams County, Colorado

The most common type of assault charged in a domestic violence case is Assault in the Third Degree (3') which is a class 1 misdemeanor (most serious).

Phone: 303-578-8550 | Email: [email protected]
Online Intake: Case-Evaluation | 3 Offices to Visit: Maps & Addresses




Assault 3' alleges that a person knowingly or recklessly caused bodily injury or pain to another person. This can be something as small as a pinch, to a scratch, to a bruise. Other states may refer to this as battery or fighting.

However, if it gets more serious than that, a different type of assault will be charged. To learn about the two other, more serious types of assault charges, go here.

Sometimes harassment, a class 3 misdemeanor (least serious) is charged instead of Assault 3' when the contact is very minor.

The 'DV' or domestic violence tag is a sentencing enhancer or aggravator which is explained here. For an Assault 3' charge, the DV tag increases the maximum possibly penalty in jail from 18 months to 2 years (6 month difference). Note that just about any criminal charge can be tagged as 'DV', including other more serious forms of assault. A domestic violence conviction will cause that person to permanently lose their right to own, use, or possess a firearm.

Serving Colorado In Douglas County • Arapahoe County • Adams County
Castle Rock | Parker | Lone Tree | Highlands Ranch | Littleton | Greenwood Village | Centennial | Englewood | Denver Tech Center | Aurora | Brighton

Navigational Sitelinks

Domestic Violence Home FAQ Contact Us
DV Assault About Us Videos Areas Served
DV Harassment Practice Areas Rights Fees & Costs
DV VRO Client Reviews Charges Online Payment
DV Penalties Atty. Evans Bond
DV Defined Court
Handling DV's Public Events
Our Big Cases

Get Legal Help Fast - Contact Us Online Now!

Get My Consultation