It’s been nearly two years since Amendment 64 was passed, which made
it legal for adults over the age of 21 in Colorado to possess and grow
limited amounts of marijuana. While the law will undoubtedly eventually
be addressed in a federal court, the revenue generated for the state has
far exceeded expectations.
What many people fail to realize however, is that there are many restrictions
on the amount of weed you can have, as well as where you can legally smoke
it. In fact, for the first three quarters of 2014, Denver saw a 470% increase
in public consumption tickets when compared to the same period in 2013.
How Much Weed Are You Allowed to Possess?
In Colorado, you are legally allowed to have up to one ounce of THC in
your possession if you are at least 21 years old. This distinction between
THC and marijuana means that you are allowed to possess up to an ounce
of edible and concentrated forms of the drug, in addition to the flower
If you’re caught in possession of more than one ounce of THC, you
could face the following charges:
- Between 1-2 ounces: Petty offense punishable by a $100 fine
- Between 2-6 ounces: Misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail and
a $700 fine
- Between 6-12 ounces: Misdemeanor punishable by up to 18 months in jail
and a $5,000 fine
- More than 12 ounces: Felony punishable by up to 2 years in jail and a $100,000 fine
As you can see, although it is legal to possess some marijuana, you can
face extremely stiff penalties if you are caught with larger amounts.
Additionally, you can face an enhanced sentence if you have more than
8 ounces with the intent to distribute it.
Is it Legal to Sell Marijuana in Colorado?
Until January of 2016, only existing medical marijuana centers, cultivators,
and manufacturers can apply for a retail marijuana license. If you do
not have a retail marijuana license, you could face up to 32 years in
jail and up to $1 million in fines for sale to an adult – for sale
to a minor, the penalties can be even greater.
Charged with a Marijuana Crime? Call The Evans Firm.
Although marijuana is technically legal in Colorado, it is legal in a very
restricted capacity. If you’ve been charged with a marijuana-related
crime, call our firm today. When you retain The Evans Frim, our Denver
criminal defense attorney will aggressively fight the charges against
you, working tirelessly to defend your rights and freedom.
Don’t face criminal charges alone. Call (303) 221-3634 for tough