Harassment Defense Lawyers

Law Offices Representing Castle Rock to Brighon, Colorado

Harassment is the 'catch all' charge for minor crimes of violence, including domestic violence cases, and is a class 3 misdemeanor (least serious).

GET HARASSMENT DEFENSE NOW!
Phone: 303-578-8550 | Email: info@TheEvansFirm.com
Online Intake: Case-Evaluation | Centennial Office Visit: Map & Address

Harassment covers everything from annoying phone calls and text messages, to obscene language, threats, loud music, and offensive conduct or behavior, to pushing, striking, shoving, and kicking. It is written as a very broad statute to cover a lot of criminal activity. A person commits harassment if, with intent to harass, annoy, or alarm another person, he or she:

(a) Strikes, shoves, kicks, or otherwise touches a person or subjects him to physical contact; or (b) In a public place directs obscene language or makes an obscene gesture to or at another person; or (c) Follows a person in or about a public place; or (d) Repealed. (e) Directly or indirectly initiates communication with a person or directs language toward another person, anonymously or otherwise, by telephone, telephone network, data network, text message, instant message, computer, computer network, computer system, or other interactive electronic medium in a manner intended to harass or threaten bodily injury or property damage, or makes any comment, request, suggestion, or proposal by telephone, computer, computer network, computer system, or other interactive electronic medium that is obscene; or (f) Makes a telephone call or causes a telephone to ring repeatedly, whether or not a conversation ensues, with no purpose of legitimate conversation; or (g) Makes repeated communications at inconvenient hours that invade the privacy of another and interfere in the use and enjoyment of another's home or private residence or other private property; or (h) Repeatedly insults, taunts, challenges, or makes communications in offensively coarse language to, another in a manner likely to provoke a violent or disorderly response.

The 'DV' or domestic violence tag is a sentencing enhancer or aggravator which is explained here. For a harassment harge, the DV tag increases the maximum possibly penalty in jail from 90 days to 270 days (6 month difference). Note that just about any criminal charge can be tagged as 'DV', including other more serious forms of assault. A domestic violence conviction will cause that person to permanently lose their right to own, use, or possess a firearm.

Serving Colorado In Douglas County • Arapahoe County • Adams County
Castle Rock | Parker | Lone Tree | Highlands Ranch | Littleton | Greenwood Village | Centenial | Engelwood | Denver Tech Center | Aurora | Brighton

Navigational Sitelinks

Domestic Violence Home FAQ Contact Us
DV Assault About Us Videos Areas Served
DV Harassment Practice Areas Rights Fees & Costs
DV VRO Client Reviews Charges Online Payment
DV Penalties Atty. Evans Bond
DV Defined Atty. Bibliowicz Court
Handling DV's Public Events
Our Big Cases

Get Legal Help Fast - Contact Us Online Now!

Get My Consultation