Domestic Assault Defense Law Firm
Lawyers & Attorneys Serving Arapahoe, Douglas, & Adams County, Colorado
The most common type of assault charged in a domestic violence case is
Assault in the Third Degree (3') which is a class 1 misdemeanor (most serious).
HIRE A DV ASSAULT LAWYER - CALL NOW!
303-578-8550 | Email:
Case-Evaluation | 3 Offices to Visit:
Maps & Addresses
BOOK APPT (CENTENNIAL)
BOOK APPT. (BRIGHTON)
BOOK APPT. (DENVER)
Assault 3' alleges that a person knowingly or recklessly caused bodily
injury or pain to another person. This can be something as small as a
pinch, to a scratch, to a bruise. Other states may refer to this as battery
However, if it gets more serious than that, a different type of assault
will be charged. To learn about the two other, more serious types of assault charges,
harassment, a class 3 misdemeanor (least serious) is charged instead of Assault 3'
when the contact is very minor.
The 'DV' or domestic violence tag is a sentencing enhancer or aggravator which is
explained here. For an Assault 3' charge, the DV tag increases the maximum possibly
penalty in jail from
18 months to 2 years (6 month difference). Note that just about any criminal charge can be
tagged as 'DV', including other more serious forms of assault.
A domestic violence conviction will cause that person to permanently lose
their right to own, use, or possess a
Serving Colorado In Douglas County • Arapahoe County • Adams County
Castle Rock | Parker | Lone Tree | Highlands Ranch | Littleton | Greenwood
Village | Centennial | Englewood | Denver Tech Center | Aurora | Brighton